Tags

, , , , , ,

In this phone conversation, PM Erdoğan orders Mehmet Fatih Saraç to cut the live feed broadcasting MHP leader Bahçeli’s speech given at the weekly party meeting. 

  1. Conversation between PM Erdoğan and Mehmet Fatih Saraç (TAPE ID: 220789545) Date: 14.07.2013, Time: 12.44

 PM Erdoğan: Fatih are you watching the currently ongoing press release? 

Mehmet Fatih Saraç: Sir, I’m at home at the moment. Give me one minute to get out, do you mean the one on Habertürk?

PM Erdoğan:Yes

Mehmet Fatih Saraç: No sir, I’ve just turned it on.

PM Erdoğan: Fatih, are you aware of what you are doing? The man is issuing a menifesto, talking as if the country is derailed and sinking into collapse. And you are broadcasting this live, in full!  

Mehmet Fatih Saraç: Ok, I’l have the live feed cut in 2-3 minutes sir.

PM Erdoğan: What is this? It’s not as if the live broadcast just started. 

Mehmet Fatih Saraç: But sir…

PM Erdoğan: It’s been 15-20 minutes, 25 minutes.

Mehmet Fatih Saraç: Ok sir, im passing on the message, getting it cut now. 

PM Erdoğan: What kind of disgrace is this? The man has been swearing at us since the beginning of his speech. 

Mehmet Fatih Saraç: We are broadcasting all political parties so that we have them on record. 

PM Erdoğan: And why would you have to record all the speeches? Are you forced to? Look at what the man is doing, as if the country is ruined… 

Mehmet Fatih Saraç: Ok sir.

PM Erdoğan: He is saying the country is taken over by traitors and that we are in cohort with these traitors. This is not an acceptable press statement. 

Mehmet Fatih Saraç: Understood sir. 

PM Erdoğan: Oh my days…

Mehmet Fatih Saraç: I’m getting it cut right away sir. Sorry sir…

2. Conversation between Mehmet Fatih Saraç and Oğuz Usuluer (TAPE ID: 2207901119)

Mehmet Fatih Saraç gives the order to cut the ongoing live broadcast.

Mehmet Fatih Saraç: Oğuz, apart for us, no other channel provided a live broadcast of MHP leader Bahçeli’s groups speach.

Oğuz Usluer: NTV, CNN Türk and TRT..

Mehmet Fatih Saraç: No they apparently didn’t broadcast, they cut the broadcast. 

Oğuz Usluer: No they didn’t cut the broadcast Mr. Saraç. NTV, CNN Türk and TRT all aired it. 

Mehmet Fatih Saraç: But we provided it at greath length. 

Oğuz Usluer: We all gave it for the same length of time.. CNN started a bit later and ended a bit later. Maybe I aired it for 2 minutes longer because of our timing slots… 

Mehmet Fatih Saraç: Did TRT (state run TV channel) air it?

Oğuz Usluer: Yes, of course. His speech is currently ongoing anyway. We haven’t aired the whole thing. We aired the parts that relate to the Constitutional Process and the Peace Process (Kurdish)

Mehmet Fatih Saraç: Ok, lets not air the rest. Someone called me and told me he was upset. Ok? 

3. Conversation between Mehmet Fatih Saraç and Bilal Erdoğan (son of PM) (TAPE ID: 2207905018) 

Saraç attempts to justify why Bahçeli’s speech was broadcasted live on Habertürk and apologises. 

Mehmet Fatih Saraç: My dear Bilal, how are you, are you available? 

Bilal Erdoğan: Yes, go ahead. 

Mehmet Fatih Saraç: My elder called, told me I was airing Bahçeli’s speech live, asked me to cut it. Maybe you can somehow tell him, we air our broadcasts if TRT (state TV) are also broadcasting that feed. When they don’t, neither do we. TRT broadcasted (Bahçeli’s speech), A Haber broadcasted. My elder must have been following on Habertürk and caught us. I immediately ordered for the feed to be cut. The important thing is for him to not get upset. When he gets upset, I get very upset. I apologise. 

Bilal Erdoğan: Not at all, don’t mention it. 

After these conversations, Mehmet Fatih Saraç sends an SMS to Erdoğan (TAPE ID 2207927521) on the 14.07.2014 stating;

 “As long as you don’t get upset. I’m sorry, I just want you to know how much I persevere”

